Free classical music @ Shenzhen Library on March 19

res01_attpic_brief (2)_副本.jpg

Spruce Quartet

Spruce Quartet, comprising four string musicians from Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra, will perform a free chamber music concert Sunday night at the Shenzhen Library.

The program will include Stamitz’s “Duo No. 2 for Violin and Viola in D Minor,” Bach’s “Brandenburg Concerto” and Haydn’s “String Trio No. 2.”

Bach’s Brandenburg concertos are a collection of six instrumental works and are widely regarded as some of the best orchestral compositions of the Baroque era.

Carl Philipp Stamitz was a German composer of partial Czech ancestry. He was the most prominent representative of the second generation of the Mannheim School. His unaccompanied duos for violin and viola are particularly notable. Stylistically, his music resembles that of Mozart or Haydn and is characterized by appealing melodies.

Haydn was a prolific Austrian composer of the classical period. He was instrumental in the development of chamber music such as the piano trio and his contributions to musical form have earned him the epithets “Father of the Symphony” and “Father of the String Quartet.”

Time: 7-8 p.m., March 19

Venue: Shenzhen Library, 2001 Fuzhong Road 1, Futian District (福田区福中一路2001号深圳图书馆)

Metro: Line 3 or 4, Children’s Palace Station (少年宫站), Exit D

(SD News)



Copyright 2001-2013 Visitgd All Rights Reserved     备案/许可证编号为:粤ICP备09138890